• José Navas

    Photo: Valérie Simmons


  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak
  • Total duration: 40 min
  • After critical acclaim for his performance of the Rite of Spring with the Brussels Philharmonic at the Concertgebouw of Bruges (Belgium) in 2013, José Navas will revisit the experience, in Montreal, by sharing the stage with the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM) under the musical direction of Lorraine Vaillancourt. Accompanied by 15 seasoned musicians, the choreographer personifies the role of the Chosen One, dancing to death without compromise. Through an organic connection with Stravinsky’s music, he gradually transforms himself, passing from an iconic figure garbed in a long black dress to the fragility of his naked body at the end. Experience this unprecedented encounter between the musical sensitivity of José Navas and an intimate new take on theRite of Spring by the NEM (re-orchestration by François Vallières).

    • Year of premiere: 2018
    • Target audience: Adulte
    • Choreographer(s): José Navas
    • Performer(s): José Navas et les musiciens du Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM).
    • Collaborator(s): Costumes: Sonya Bayer; photos: Valerie Simmons; éclairages: Marc Parent; musique: Igor Stravinsky
    Last update: 28 mars 2018