(in)sight

Sentiment du moi

Photo credit

Performer(s) in the photo: Ella Steele, Steven Noronha, David Lafleur, Leighton Harrell, Laura Donaldson, Aidan McConnell et Veronica Simpson (gauche à droite)

Photographer: E.S. Cheah

Creation

2022

Length

15 min.

Number of interpreter(s)

7

Target audience(s)

All Audiences

Keyworks

Indoors, Official selection Parcours Danse 2023

Description

Following three movements that explore identity, transformation, and thresholds in relation to sense of self, this 15 minute multidisciplinary collaboration consists of Tap dance, performance art, live original modern Jazz music compositions, and video projection. Mirror/Water/Doorway features four dancers and three musicians. It is conceptualized, choreographed, and performed by (in)sight’s artistic directors in collaboration with bassist, composer, and musical director, Leighton Harrell, and videographer Leigh Lugosi.

At its core, a mirror is a reflective object. Functionally, it enables the perception of the self, a molecular assembly dictated by genes, simultaneously influenced by societal norms. Water is an energy-filled state of irregularity and transformation evoking the dichotomy between movement and immobility. The door embodies two contrary functions – to connect and separate – sharing a dualistic meaning of protection and communication. It is a reflection between past, present and future. These ideas reflect the constant shifts in everyday life. (in)sight zooms in on the beautiful, messy, heartbreaking, uplifting, tumultuous, and wonderful human experience and explores what it means to navigate this world within the lens of mirrors, water, and doorways.

The original Jazz music compositions will guide the performers and audiences through dynamic full bodied movements and historically rooted yet modern sound, lively stage pictures, and video projection that is an artful reflection on who we are, how we navigate change, and how we move forward. Seeking to rethink and shatter the conventional codes of Tap dance, maintain respect for their community and its deep historical link to the cultural heritage of Jazz music, the performers will bring Tap dance and Jazz music into a space of invigorating artistic exploration.

Choreographer(s)

David Lafleur, Ella Steele

Credits

Choreographers and performers: Ella Steele and David Lafleur
Musical director and performer: Leighton Harrell
Videographer: Leigh Lugosi
With financial support from Manitoba Arts Council, Winnipeg Arts Council, Canada Council for the Arts and Toffan Rhythm Projects.

Contact

David Lafleur
819 328-6591
Play Video

Désolé!

L’organisation sélectionnée n’est pas
membre de La danse sur les routes.

Sentiment du moi

Crédit photo

Interprète(s) sur la photo: Ella Steele, Steven Noronha, David Lafleur, Leighton Harrell, Laura Donaldson, Aidan McConnell et Veronica Simpson (gauche à droite)

Photographe: E.S. Cheah

Création

2022

Durée

15-25 min.

Nombre d’interprète(s)

7

Public(s) cible(s)

Tous publics

Mots-clés

En salle, Sélection officielle Parcours Danse 2023

Description

Suivant trois plans qui explorent l’identité, la transformation et les passages de seuil en relation avec le sens de soi, cette collaboration multidisciplinaire de 15 à 25 minutes se compose de Tap dance, d’art de performance, de musique jazz et de projections vidéo. Mirror/Water/Doorway (V.F. Sentiment du moi) met en scène quatre danseurs et trois musiciens. Elle est conçue, chorégraphiée et interprétée par les directeurs artistiques de (in)sight en collaboration avec le bassiste et directeur musical, Leighton Harrell, lae vidéaste, Leigh Lugosi.

Au plus simple, un miroir est un objet réfléchissant. Fonctionnellement, il permet la perception du soi, un assemblage moléculaire dicté par les gènes, simultanément influencé par les normes sociétales. L’eau est un état d’irrégularité et de transformation chargé en énergie, qui évoque la dichotomie entre le mouvement et l’immobilité. La porte incarne deux fonctions opposées – relier et séparer – partageant une dualité de protection et de communication. Ces idées sont le reflet des changements constants de la vie quotidienne. (in)sight se penche sur l’expérience humaine, belle, désordonnée, déchirante, édifiante, tumultueuse et merveilleuse et explore ce que signifie naviguer ce monde à travers la lentille d’un miroir, de l’eau et de l’embrasure d’une porte.

Les compositions originales de musique jazz guideront les interprètes et le public à travers des mouvements dynamiques et amples, un son à la fois historique et moderne, des images scéniques vivantes et des projections vidéo qui sont une réflexion artistique sur ce que nous sommes, sur la façon dont nous vivons le changement et sur la façon dont nous allons de l’avant. Cherchant à repenser et à briser les codes conventionnels du Tap dance, tout en respectant leur communauté et son lien historique profond avec l’héritage culturel de la musique jazz, les artistes amèneront le Tap dance et la musique jazz dans un espace d’exploration artistique revigorant.

Chorégraphe(s)

David Lafleur, Ella Steele

Crédits

Chorégraphes et interprètes: Ella Steele et David Lafleur
Directeur musical et interprète: Leighton Harrell
Vidéaste: Leigh Lugosi
Avec le soutien financier du Conseil des arts du Manitoba, du Conseil des arts de Winnipeg, du Conseil des arts du Canada et de Toffan Rhythm Projects.

Contact

David Lafleur
819 328-6591
Play Video

Date et heure

Compagnie

Diffuseur

Billeterie

Résultats

Désolé!

L’organisation sélectionnée n’est pas
membre de La danse sur les routes.